RAF Akrotiri v RAF Leeming December 2019

RAF Akrotiri named RAF FA Club of the Year

RAF Akrotiri (Cyprus) have been named the 2019-20 RAF FA Club of the Year.

Criteria for this award includes:

Must have FA Charter Standard award
Discipline Record - including prompt payment of fines with completed paperwork
Communication with RAF FA HQ
Fixture fulfilment
Attendance at competitions and meetings
Football involvement with local community and associated initiatives
Performances on the pitch

This award is in recognition of all the outstanding work, participation and effort undertaken to truly bring RAF Akrotiri back into the RAF FA fold. The team made it to the semi-final of the RAF Cup before Covid-19 travel restrictions resulted in the team having to withdraw.  Off the field RAF Akrotiri's administration has been very good, with the Club also looking to develop Women's football.

Previous RAF FA Club of the Winners:

2008-09 RAF Halton
2009-10 RAF Leeming
2010-11 RAF Wittering
2011-12 Not Awarded
2012-13 RAF Lossiemouth
2013-14 Not Awarded
2014-15 Not Awarded
2015-16 Not Awarded
2016-17 RAF Honington
2017-18 Not Awarded
2018-19 Not Awarded
2019-20 RAF Akrotiri

Winners usually receive x4 FA Cup Final or England tickets but given the current Covid-19 restrictions another suitable prize will be made to RAF Akrotiri by RAF FA Chairman Gp Capt Neil Jones in the next few weeks.